I am Sister Brown.

Send me to my people.

And after the fire. April 16, 2010

Filed under: joy,just.keep.going.,opposition,peace,scriptures — lyndsishae @ 11:37 PM

Last night I planned out my whole day. Every block of studying, and what should be completed within this block, and how long my break will be, and what I will and will not do on my break. I woke up today and didn’t get a very good start on the list.  I was doing a bummer bummer job following through.

I am so disappointed in myself sometimes. I don’t want to dwell on why. I just want to give you a few adjectives. I felt very stagnant. I felt: beneath. Beneath what I wanted to be. Lately, I have felt these things in Great Repetition.

I had to get out!

I explained to God that I needed to escape this. I had to rise from the dingy, beneath feeling. “I know I’m here partly as a result of my own choices,” I said. “I’m going to stop choosing those things now. Can you help me get the rest of the way? I can’t do it all by myself.”

Usually after a prayer like this, I explain to God that I understand if he can’t give me direction. I acknowledge all the reasons why I might not deserve it. I take responsibility. I tell him I’ll keep going even if He doesn’t help me. I end up making excuses about why I won’t receive help for at least double the time I’ve spent on asking for it. This is not helpful. But I didn’t do it this time! I just asked for what I needed. Then I told Him I would follow His will no matter what. (That’s all I really need to conclude with.) And then I had mad faith that good things were coming, because I knew God could send that to me. He could lift me up, and I could be worth that. Skipping that grueling prayer-conclusion is a personal triumph these days.

I got out of my blankets and piles of literary criticism. I changed clothes. I ate something. I listened to Joseph: A Nashville Tribute. This is a folksy CD about the story of Joseph Smith, the first prophet of my church. And guess what? God came with me. I want to show you the change in my adjectives…

I was hopeful. I felt worth. I knew that good things were coming, and that I had what it would take to find them. I was ready.

I am thankful. Quietly empowered.

And now: back to college. I don’t think I’ll belong here much longer, but I can finish my finals. It is it strangest feeling to walk around campus, knowing that I now belong somewhere else. What’s up BYU? I can handle this ten page beast of a paper. And after that, I’m gonna rock these mish papers some more. Some more some more some more.

* * * * *

And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord.
And, behold, the Lord passed by,and a great and strong wind rent the mountains,
and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind:
and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake:
And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire:
and after the fire
a still small voice.
1 Kings 19: 11-12

 

Leave a Reply

