I am Sister Brown.

Send me to my people.

Right where I stand, I have just as far behind me as I have to go June 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lyndsishae @ 11:51 PM

May 30, 2011

I am half way through my mission.

Doesn’t that make you stop dead in your tracks?

Right where I stand, I have just as far behind me as I have to go.

And after today, I have more behind me than there is ahead.

I love being a missionary.

Of course there are days where I just want to go back to the apartment and take a nap, but I never never want to come home.

No way.

A little while ago I started to realize how different my world will be when I do go home, and I’ve been at least a little terrified to return ever since.

There are definitely times where I miss home SO BAD.

But I love who I am now. I love what I do.

I don’t think I can let it go.

Good thing I don’t have to!

I get to stay for a little while longer!

Realizing all of this makes me want to squeeze all the goodness out of every day I have left.

To keep moving forward.

Not as fast as I can– I learned that that is a bad idea.

But definitely as diligently as I can.

As thoroughly as I can.

Sister Warr and I get at least 6 more weeks in Valencia!

Last transfer was the longest transfer of my life.

Not the hardest, but definitely the longest.

I carry at least 80% of the work at all times– but somehow I’m okay.

I know Heavenly Father is carrying me. There is no way I’m doing this alone.

I know sometimes God sends miracles solely for that purpose– so we can know that he is there.

And I will also ease the burdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand as witnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their afflictions.

Mosiah 24:14

And he ministered unto him even as he ministered unto the Nephites; and all this, that this man might know that he was God, because of the many great works which the Lord had showed unto him.

Ether 3:18

And I will also be your light in the wilderness; and I will prepare the way before you, if it so be that ye shall keep my commandments; wherefore, inasmuch as ye shall keep my commandments ye shall be led towards the promised land; and ye shall know that it is by me that ye are led.

1 Nephi 17:13

In other news…

*We had lunch with the Fletcher’s and the Zumbek’s after church. I busted in the door with a dramatic story about how we just got bible bashed and I needed to be with people that loved me. “Your just like your Mamaw!” they said. That is one of the nicest thing they could’ve ever said about me! I think it’s because I was loud and feisty. Typical.

*This week our zone played soccer. I’ve never really played before but after some taunting from the elders I decided to try. I was channeling my inner-Lacey the whole time. And guess what? I love soccer! I’ve been thinking about it ever since. And I scored! Twice!

*I got Lacey’s graduation pictures in the mail! What a fox. I keep them on our nightly planning table so I can see her every night when we come home.

*I love the scriptures. I eat up my personal study. I am finding so many connections and common themes and symbols and allegories and oh man… why didn’t I realize how golden they were before? I can english major my soul away INSIDE the word of God! This is a dream!

*We had 3 people bring friends to the youth activity. That’s a start! One of them said they would meet with us. One is already an investigator. We didn’t invite the third one because her friend wanted us to wait.

The activity was at an outdoor facility for adults with special needs. As soon as we got out of the car they all came up to us. It was a chaos of hugs and introductions and they were so excited! I loved it! My main friend was Blanca– who just got a gold medal in Bocce. She’s a boss! We had a BBQ and served them food. Then we played sports. I was with Blanca the bocce ball crew. That game is much harder than it looks! Jerry was on our team. Jerry was so nice. At the end he came over and layed his head on my shoulder. He closed his eyes and got a big smile on his face. Keep in mind this is the first body contact I’ve had with a male in 9 months.

“Are you sleepy Jerry?”

“Noooope!”

“Uhh, umm…. oh.”

Needless to say, I handled it like a champ.

Okay let’s end with a quote from the ward again on account of I love those.

This one is from Brother Hall, our Ward Mission Leader.

In ward council he asked who was coming to church– and gave us a skeptical look when we proclaimed a certain family was going to be there.

They’ve yet to come and he’s wasn’t sure he believed it.

“Faith Brother Hall!” we said. “Where is your faith?!”

An hour later, there they are. Sittin in the chapel!

He comes over and whispers,

“You Sisters’ faith is amazing! You could bottle that up and sell it!”

OOOOH Yeah!

I love you!

–Sister Brown.

 

Leave a Reply

