I am Sister Brown.

Send me to my people.

Hurricane What’s Her Name…Ilene…Irene? November 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lyndsishae @ 11:43 AM

August 29, 2011

Question of the weekend:

“Hey Sister Brown is everything okay with your family on the east coast?”

The first time I was asked I said something like…

“I only hear from them on Mondays so I don’t know. Why? Did the hurricane hit NC?”

And then of course they don’t know what to say because they don’t know either and end up stumbling over something like…

“Um I don’t know but I’m sure everything’s fine, right?

I mean uh, nothing to be scared about. No worries! Uh…”

And then I spend the rest of the time trying to help them not feel awkward for asking and pretty soon I’m comforting them instead of the other way around.

“I feel like they’re okay out there. God’s been really good at taking care of my family so far and I have peace in my heart so that must mean it’s fine…It’s okay. Don’t worry. Thanks for remembering that my family is in NC! I’ll let you know when I read my emails on Monday…”

I did get a voicemail last night from someone in the ward who’d called their relatives in Greensboro.

“Everyone in Greensboro is okay Sister Brown so don’t worry about your Grandparents. I’m sure the rest of your family is okay too…”

Aren’t these people great? It feels so good to be cared about.

I guess you’re fine because no one said a thing about Hurricane Ilene or Irene or whatever her name is.

What can I say about my life these days?

I feel like things are going by so fast.

I don’t know how to slow it down.

I’m still exhausted but I’ve had the most incredible peace these past few days ever since I made the decision about when I’m comin home.

There is a little bit of sadness in my peace. Reality is: My time is limited.

That’s hard.

I’ve come so far but there’s so much more I want to do and become and affect.

And I’m exhausted.

I am pushin on through with my ten billion emotions and trying to accept that there’s nothing I can do about time passing by except be strong and go hard.

I love you!

Sister Brown.

 

Leave a Reply

